Recommend to your friend:Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestPrint this pageEmail this to someone

The High Court Division upheld the Death penalty verdict today for six convicts in the Awami League leader Ahsanullah Master killing case. Among the convicts, Nurul Islam, BNP leader from Gazipur, Nurul Islam Dipu, Shahidul Islam Shipu, Kana Hafiz and Sabuj alias Saru received the death sentence, while seven other convicts were sentenced with life imprisonment.

An HCD bench of Justice Obaidul Hassan and Justice Krishna Debnath declared the verdict today against the appeal of the judgment from the lower court.

Ahsanullah Master, a popular leader and former MP of Gazipur district from Bangladesh Awami League, was shot to death at a rally at MA Mazid Miah High School ground at Tongi of Gazipur on May 7, 2004.

On the following day, a case was filed against 17 people by the victim’s brother Matiur Rahman.

A Speedy Trial Tribunal on April 16, 2005 sentenced 22 people, including BNP leader Nurul Islam Sarkar, to death and six others to life imprisonment in the murder case. Of them, 17 are currently behind the bars while two others have already died and the rest nine are on the run.

The convicts later appealed with the High Court Division against the sentences. The case documents were also sent to the HCD as death reference for its approval. The hearing on the appeals and death reference began on January 21 this year and ended on June 8.